Are oreos made out of animal products?

Do they really have animal grease in them?

Answer:
Chocolate cream Oreos are completely lacto-vegetarian, so are Spring Oreos and a few others.
the cream be made out of lard.
They used to have whey contained by them. But as of a couple of years ago oreos are actually lacto-vegetarian now.

(The "normal" ones at least possible. I'm not sure about the fudge ones.)

Oreo's did originally contain margarine as well, but they changed that several years ago (sometime back 1992.) in no small cut due to pressure of the Jewish community. (Oreo's weren't kosher when they contained lard.)
probably not... the filling is probably vegetable shortening.
Regular Oreos Ingredients:
Sugar, flour, hydrogenated soybean oil, cocoa, lofty fructose corn syrup, whey, corn starch, baking soda, salt, soy lecithin, vanillin, chocolate

Mini Oreos Ingredients:
Flour, sugar, hydrogenated soybean grease, cocoa, lactose, high fructose corn syrup, corn flour, whey, corn starch, brackish, baking soda, soy lecithin, vanillin, chocolate


Whey and lactose would be animal ingredients (milk). They would be considered vegetatarian, but not vegan
unfortunately, yes they hold lard within the filling. some of the best things surrounded by life come from animals.
yes the cream is made of crisco <animal fat> and powdered suger ...............not healthy
Some contain dairy products, some are vegan, but they unquestionably don't contain lard.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/oreo...
Go ahead and eat them.

Why deprive yourself of something accurate.
Yes sir, they most without doubt are.
if you are scred that they do them get to your health food store or department and look for the heathy ones
They are vegetarian in a minute. Back in the light of day they started putting lard within the oreos and someone took out an add for the front page of a broadsheet stating that they had grease in them. Since after the company quit putting lard contained by it. Weird huh. I learned that surrounded by a high university science class a long time ago.

More Questions & Answers...

The entirety of this site is protected by copyright © 2008-2011.
All rights reserved. Food-FAQ.com